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18VAC105-20-5. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Active clinical practice" means as an average of 20 hours per week or 640 hours per year of

providing patient care.

"Adnexa" is defined as the conjoined, subordinate, or immediately associated anatomic parts
of the human eye, including eyelids and eyebrows.

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Optometry.

"NBEO" means the National Board of Examiners in Optometry.

"TMOD" means the treatment and management of ocular disease portion of the NBEO

examination.

“TPA" means therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.

"TPA certification” means authorization by the Virginia Board of Optometry for an optometrist

to treat diseases and abnormal conditions of the human eye and its adnexa and to prescribe and

administer certain therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.

18VAC105-20-10. Licensure-by-examination Requirements for licensure.

A. The applicant, in order to be eligible for licensure by-examination to practice optometry in

the Commonwealth, shall meet the requirements for TPA certification in 18VAC105-20-16 and

shall:
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1. Be a graduate of a school of optometry accredited by the Accreditation Council on

Optometric Education or other accrediting body deemed by the board to be substantially

equivalent; have an official transcript verifying graduation sent to the board:

2. Request submission of an official report from the NBEO of a score received on each

required part of the NBEO examination or other board-approved examination; and

3. Submit a completed application and the prescribed fee; and

4. Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has read, understands, and will comply

with the statutes and regulations governing the practice of optometry in Virginia.

5. The board may waive the

requirement of graduation from an accredited school of optometry for an applicant who holds a

current, unrestricted license in another United States jurisdiction and has been engaged in active

clinical practice for 36 out of the 60 months immediately preceding application for licensure in

Virginia.

C. Required examinations. 4 For the purpose of § 54.1-3211 of the Code of Virginia, the
board adopts alf parts of the NBEO examination as its written examination for licensure. After July

1, 1997, the board shall require passage as determined by the board of Parts I, Il, and IIl of the

NBEO examination, including pagsage of TMOD.
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d, the foliowing

requirements shall also apply:

1. The applicant shall attest that ke the applicant is not a respondent in a pending or

unresolved malpractice claim:-and.
2. Each jurisdiction in which the appiicant is or has been licensed shall verify that:

a. The license is current and unrestricted, or if the license has lapsed, it is eligible for

reinstatement;
b. All continuing education requirements have been completed, if applicable;
¢. The applicant is not a respondent in any pending or unresolved board action; and

d. The applicant has not committed any act that would constitute a violation of § 54.1-

3204 or 54.1-3215 of the Code of Virginia.

another jurisdiction who has not been engaged in active practice within the 12 months

immediately preceding application for licensure in Virginia_shall be required to complete

20 hours of continuing education as specified in 18VAC105-20-70.

4. In the case of a federal service optometrist. the commanding officer shall also verify

that the applicant is in good standing.
18VAC105-20-15. Licensure by endorsement. (Repealed.)
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18VAC105-20-16. Requirements for TPA certification.

A. An applicant for licensure shall meet the following requirements for TPA certification:

1. Complete a full-time, postgraduate or equivalent graduate-level optometric training
program that is approved by the board and that shall include a minimum of 20 hours of

clinical supervision by an ophthalmologist; and

2. Take-and-pass Submit a passing score on the TPA certification examination, which shall
O TMOD or-if be

TPA-certified by a—state-examination—provide-evidence of-comparability-tethe NBEO

examination-thatis an examination satisfactory to the board.

B. A candidate for certification by the board who fails the examination as required in
subdivision A 2 of this section, following three attempts, shall complete additional postgraduate

training as determined by the board to be eligibie for TPA certification.

18VAC105-20-20. Fees.

A. Required fees.

Initial application and licensure (including TPA certification) $250
\pplication for TR/ o $200
Annual licensure renewal without TPA certification $150
Annual licensure renewal with TPA certification $200
Late renewal without TPA certification $50

$65

Late renewal with TPA certification

P7



Returned check $35

Professional designation application $100
Annual professional designation renewal (per location) $50
$20

Late renewal of professional designation
Reinstatement application fee (including renewal and late fees) $400

Reinstatement application after disciplinary action $500
Duplicate wall certificate $25
Duplicate license $10

$10

Licensure verification

B. Unless otherwise specified, all fees are nonrefundable.

C. From October 31, 2018, to December 31, 2018, the following fees shall be in effect:

Annual licensure renewal without TPA certification $75
Annual licensure renewal with TPA certification $100
$25

Annual professional designation renewal (per location)

18VAC106-20-40. Standards of conduct.

The board has the authority to deny; refuse fo issue or renew a license suspend, revoke, or

otherwise discipline a licensee for a violation of the following standards of conduct. A licensed
optometrist shall:

1. Use in connection with the optometrist's name wherever it appears relating to the

practice of optometry one of the following: the word "optometrist,” the abbreviation "0.D. "
or the words "doctor of optometry."

2. bisclese-to Notify the board of any disciplinary action taken by a regulatory body in
another jurisdiction.

3. Post in an area of the optometric office which is conspicuous to the public, a chart or

directory listing the names of all optometrists practicing at that particular location.
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4. Maintain patient records, perform procedures or make recommendations during any
eye examination, contact lens examination or treatment as necessary to protect the heaith

and welfare of the patient and consistent with requirements of 18VAC105-20-45.

5. Notify patients in the event the practice is to be terminated or relocated, giving a
reasonable time period within which the patient or an authorized representative can
request in writing that the records or copies be sent to any other like-regulated provider of
the patient's choice or destroyed in compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2405 of the

Code of Virginia on the transfer of patient records in conjunction with closure, sale, or

relocation of practice.

6. Ensure his access to the practice location during hours in which the practice is closed

in order to be able to properly evaluate and treat a patient in an emergency.

7. Provide for continuity of care in the event of an absence from the practice or, in the
event the optometrist chooses to terminate the practitioner-patient relationship or make
his services unavailable, document notice to the patient that allows for a reasonable time

to obtain the services of another practitioner.

8. Comply with the provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the
confidentiality and disclosure of patient records and related to the provision of patient

records to another practitioner or to the patient or his personal representative.

9. Treat or prescribe based on a bona fide practitioner-patient relationship consistent with
criteria set forth in § 54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia. A licensee shall not prescribe a
controlled substance to himself or a family member other than Schedule VI as defined in
§ 54.1-3455 of the Code of Virginia. When treating or prescribing for self or family, the
practitioner shall maintain a patient record documenting compliance with statutory criteria

for a bona fide practitioner-patient relationship.
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10. Comply with provisions of statute or regulation, state or federal, relating to the
diversion, distribution, dispensing, prescribing, or administration of controlled substances

as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia.

11. Not enter into a relationship with a patient that constitutes a professional boundary

violation in which the practitioner uses his professional position to take advantage of the

vulnerability of a patient or his family to includebut-netbelimited-te. actions that result in
personal gain at the expense of the patient, a nontherapeutic personal involvement, or
sexual conduct with a patient. The determination of when a person is a patient is made on
a case-by-case basis with consideration given to the nature, extent, and context of the
professional relationship between the practitioner and the person. The fact that a person
is not actively receiving treatment or professional services from a practitioner is not
determinative of this issue. The consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior

or involvement with a practitioner by a patient does not change the nature of the conduct
hor negate the prohibition.

12. Cooperate with the board or its representatives in providing information or records as

requested or required pursuant to an investigation or the enforcement of a statute or
regulation.

13. Not practice with an expired or unregistered professional designation.

14. Not violate or cooperate with others in violating any of the provisions of Chapters 1 (§
54.1-100 et seq.), 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) or 32 (§ 54.1-3200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the

Code of Virginia or regulations of the board.

18VAC105-20-45. Standards of practice.
A. An optometrist shall legibly document in a patient record the foliowing:

1. During a routine or medical eye examination:
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a. An adequate case history, including the patient's chief complaint;
b. The performance of appropriate testing;
¢. The establishment of an assessment or diagnosis; and

d. A recommendation for an appropriate treatment or management plan, including any

necessary follow up.
2. During an initial contact lens examination:

a. The requirements of a routine or medical eye examination as prescribed in

subdivision 1 of this subsection:
b. Assessment of corneal curvature;
c. Evaluation of contact lens fitting;
d. Acuity through the lens: and
e. Directions for the wear, care, and handling of lenses.
3. During a follow-up contact lens examination:
a. Evaluation of contact lens fitting and anterior segment health;
b. Acuity through the lens; and
c. Such further instructions as necessary for the individual patient.

4. In addition, the record of any examination shall include the signature of the attending

optometrist and, if indicated, refraction of the patient.
B. The following information shall appear on a prescription for ophthalmic goods:

1. The printed name of the prescribing optometrist;

2. The address and telephone number at which the patient's records are maintained and

the optometrist can be reached for consultation;
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3. The name of the patient;
4. The signature of the optometrist;

3. The date of the examination and-an-expiration-date-if-medically-appropriate; and

6._If an expiration date is placed on a prescription for ophthalmic goods, the date shall not

be less than one_ vyear uniess the medical reason for a shorter expiration date is

documented in the patient record; and

7. Any special instructions.

C. Contact lens.

1. Sufficient information for complete and accurate filling of an established contact lens

prescription shall include butret-belimited-o (i) the power, (i) the material or manufacturer

or both, (iii) the base curve or appropriate designation, (iv) the diameter when appropriate,

and (v) medically appropriate expiration date.

2. An optometrist shall provide a patient with a copy of the patient's contact lens
prescription at the end of the contact lens fitting, even if the patient does not ask for it. An
optometrist may first require all fees to be paid, but only if he requires immediate payment

from patients whose eye examinations reveal no need for corrective eye products.

3. An optometrist shall provide or verify the prescription to anyone who is designated to

act on behalf of the patient, including contact lens sellers.

4. An optometrist shall not require patients to buy contact lens lenses, pay additional fees,

or sign a waiver or release in exchange for a copy of the contact lens prescription.

5. An optometrist shall not disclaim liability or responsibility for the accuracy of an eye

examination.

D. Spectacle Iens.
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1. A licensed optometrist shall provide a written prescription for spectacle lenses
immediately after the eye examination is completed. He may first require all fees to be

paid, but only if he requires immediate payment from patients whose eye examinations
reveal no need for corrective eye products.
2. An optometrist shall not require patients to buy ophthalmic goods, pay additional fees,
or sign a waiver or release in exchange for a copy of the spectacle prescription.
3. An optometrist shall not disclaim liability or responsibility for the accuracy of an eye
examination.
E. Practitioners shall maintain a patient record for a minimum of five six years following the
last patient encounter with the following exceptions:
1. Records that have previously been transferred to another practitioner or heaith care
provider or provided to the patient or his personal representative; or
2. Records that are required by contractual obligation or federal law to be maintained for
a longer period of time.
F. Practitioners shall post information or in some manner inform all patients concerning the
time frame for record retention and destruction. Patient records shall only be destroyed in a
manner that protects patient confidentiality.

G. For the purpose of prescribing spectacles, eveglasses, lenses, or contact lenses to a

patient, a licensee shall establish a bona fide provider-patient relationship in accordance with

requirements of § 54.1-2400.01:2 of the Code of Virginia.

18VAC105-20-46. Treatment guidelines for TPA-certified optometrists.

A. TPA-certified optometrists may treat diseases and abnormal conditions of the human eye

and its adnexa that may be treated with medically appropriate pharmaceutical agents as
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B. In addition, the following may be treated:

1. Glaucoma (excluding the treatment of congenital and infantile glaucoma). Treatment of

angle closure shall follow the definition and protocol prescribed in subsection C of this
section.

2. Ocular-related post-operative care in cooperation with patient's surgeon.

3. Ocular trauma to the above tissues as in subsection A of this section.

4, Uveitis.

5. Anaphylactic shock (limited to the administration of intramuscular epinephrine).

C. The definition and protocol for treatment of angle closure glaucoma shall be as follows:

1. As used in this chapter, angle closure glaucoma shall mean a closed angle in the

involved eye with significantly increased intraocular pressure, and corneal microcystic
edema;

2. Treatment shall be limited to the initiation of immediate emergency care with appropriate
pharmaceutical agents as prescribed by this chapter:

3. Once the diagnosis of angle closure glaucoma has been established by the optometrist,

the ophthalmologist to whom the patient is to be referred should be contacted immediately;

4. If there are no medical contraindications, an oral osmotic agent may be administered
as well as an oral carbonic anhydrase inhibitor and any other medically accepted,

Schedule lll, IV or VI, oral antiglaucomic agent as may become available; and

5. Proper topical medications as appropriate may also be administered by the optometrist,
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D. An oral Schedule VI immunosuppressive agent shall only be used when (i) the condition
fails to appropriately respond to any other treatment regimen; (fi) such agent is prescribed in

consultation with a physician; and (jii) treatment with such agent includes monitoring of systemic

effects.
18VAC105-20-47. Therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.

A. A TPA-certified optometrist, acting within the scope of his practice, may procure, administer
and prescribe medically appropriate therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (or any therapeutically

appropriate combination thereof) to treat diseases and abnormal conditions of the human eye and

its adnexa within the following categories:

1. Oral anaigesics - Schedule Il controlled substances consisting of hydrocodone in

combination with acetaminophen and Schedule Ill, IV and VI narcotic and nonnarcotic

agents.
2. Topically administered Schedule Vi agents:
a. Alpha-adrenergic blocking agents;
b. Anesthetic (including esters and amides);
c. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and mast cel! stabilizers);
d. Anti-fungal;
e. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase inhibitors and hyperosmotics);
f. Anti-infective (including antibiotics and antivirals);
g. Anti-inflammatory:;
h. Cycloplegics and mydriatics;

i. Decongestants; and
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j- Immunosuppressive agents.
3. Orally administered Schedule V1 agents:
a. Aminocaproic acids (including antifibrinolytic agents);
b. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and leukotriene inhibitors);
¢. Anti-fungal;
d. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase inhibitors and hyperosmotics);
e. Anti-infective (including antibictics and antivirals);
f. Anti-inflammatory (including steroidal and nonsteroidal);
g. Decongestants; and
h. Immunosuppressive agents.

B. Schedule I and V drugs and Schedule !l drugs with the exception of controlled

substances consisting of hydrocodone in combination with acetaminophen are exciuded from the

list of therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.
C. Over-the-counter topical and oral medications for the treatment of the eye and its adnexa
may be procured for administration, administered, prescribed or dispensed.

18VAC105-20-60. Renewal of licensure; reinstatement; renewal fees.

A. Every person authorized by the board to practice optometry shall, on or before December
31 of 2018, submit a completed renewal form and pay the prescribed annual licensure fee.

Beginning with calendar year 2020, the renewal of licensure deadline shail be March 31 of each

year. For calendar year 2019, no renewal is required.

B. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee to assure that the board has the

licensee's current address of record and the public address, if different from the address of record.
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All changes of address or name shall be furnished to the board within 30 days after the change
occurs. All notices required by law or by these rules and regulations are to be deemed to be validly
tendered when mailed to the address of record given and shall not relieve the licensee of the

obligation to comply.

C. The license of every person who does not complete the renewal form and submit the
renewal fee each year may be renewed for up to one year by paying the prescribed renewal fee
and late fee, provided the requirements of 18VAC105-20-70 have been met. After the renewal

deadline, a license that has not been renewed is lapsed. Practicing optometry in Virginia with a

lapsed license may subject the licensee to disciplinary action and-additional-fines-by-the-board.

D. An optometrist whose license has been lapsed for more than one year and who wishes to

resume practice in Virginia shall apply for reinstatement. The executive director may grant

reinstatement provided that:

1. The applicant can-demonstrate—continuing-competensce has a current. unrestricted
license in another United States jurisdiction and has been engaged in active clinical

practice within the 12 months immediately preceding application for reinstatement; or

2. The applicant has satisfied current requirements for continuing education as specified

in_18VAC105-20-70 for the period in which the license has been lapsed, not to exceed

two years; and

3. The applicant has paid the prescribed reinstatement application fee.

18VAC105-20-70. Requirements for continuing education.

A. Each license renewal shall be conditioned upon submission of evidence to the board of 20

hours of continuing education taken by the applicant during the previous license period. A licensee
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who completes more than 20 hours of continuing education in a year shall be allowed to camry

forward up to 10 hours of continuing education for the next annual renewal cycle.

1. The 20 hours may inciude up to two hours of recordkeeping for patient care, including
coding for diagnostic and treatment devices and procedures or the management of an
optometry practice, provided that such courses are not primarily for the purpose of
augmenting the licensee's income or promoting the sale of specific instruments or

products.

2. For optometrists who are certified in the use of therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, at
least 10 of the required continuing education hours shall be in the areas of ocular and
general pharmacology, diagnosis and treatment of the human eye and its adnexa,
including treatment with new pharmaceutical agents, or new or advanced clinical devices,
techniques, modalities, or procedures.

3. At least 10 hours shall be obtained through reai-time, interactive activities, including in-
person or electronic presentations, provided that during the course of the presentation,
the licensee and the lecturer may communicate with one another.

4. A licensee may also include up to two hours of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation
(CPR).

5. Two hours of the 20 hours required for annual renewal may be satisfied through delivery
of professional services, without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving health
services through a local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily

for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing education may be credited for

three hours of providing such volunteer services, as documented by the health department

or free clinic.
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B. Each licensee shall attest to fulfillment of continuing education hours on the required annual
renewal form. All continuing education shall be completed prior to the renewal deadline unless an
extension erwaiver has been granted by the Continuing Education Committee. A request for an

extension er-waiver shall be received prior to the renewal deadline each year.

C. All continuing education courses shall be offered by an approved sponsor or accrediting
body listed in subsection G H of this section. Courses that are not approved by a board-recognized
sponsor in advance shall not be accepted for continuing education credit. For those courses that

have a post-test requirement, credit will only be given if the optometrist receives a passing grade

as indicated on the certificate.

D. Licensees shall maintain continuing education documentation for a period of not less than
three years. A random audit of licensees may be conducted by the board which will require that
the licensee provide evidence substantiating participation in required continuing education

courses within 44 30 days of the rerewal-date audit notification.

E. Documentation of hours shall clearly indicate the name of the continuing education provider
and its affiliation with an approved sponsor or accrediting body as listed in subsection G H of this
section. Documents that do not have the required information shall not be accepted by the board

for determining compliance. Correspondence courses shall be credited according to the date en

which-the-pest-test was-graded-as indicated on the continuing education certificate.

F. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing competency requirements for the first

renewal following the date of initial licensure by examination in Virginia.

G. The board may grant an exemption for ali or part of the requirements for circumstances

beyond the control of the licensee. such as ternporary disability, mandatory military service. or

officially declared disasters.
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H. An approved continuing education course or program, whether offered by correspondence,

electronically or in person, shall be sponsored, accredited, or approved by one of the following:
1. The American Optometric Association and its constituent organizations.
2. Regional optometric organizations.
3. State optometric associations and their affiliate local societies.
4. Accredited colleges and universities providing optometric or medical courses.
5. The American Academy of Optometry and its affiliate organizations.
6. The American Academy of Ophthalmology and its affiliate organizations.
7. The Virginia Academy of Optometry.
8. Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE).
9. State or federal governmental agenciss.

10. College of Optometrists in Vision Development.

11. The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education of the American Medical

Association for Category 1 credit.

12. Providers of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).

13. Optometric Extension Program.

H- L. In order to maintain-approval receive credit for continuing education courses, providers

or-6ponsors a licensee shall submit a certificate that shows:

1. Provide-a-certificate—of-attendance-that-shows-the The date, location, presenter or

lecturer, content hours of the course and contact information of the provider or sponsor

for verification. The certificate of attendance shall be based on verification by the sponsor
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of the attendee's presence throughout the course, either provided by a post-test or by a

designated monitor.

following-its-completion. Whether the course was in real-time and interactive, including in-
person or electronic presentations.

. Falsifying the attestation of compliance with continuing education on a renewal form or

failure to comply with continuing education requirements may subject a licensee to disciplinary

action by the board, consistent with § 54.1-3215 of the Code of Virginia.
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